Resources

Here you’ll find various resources that may be of use to you. Please note that some materials are copyrighted by their creators, and the terms of our Creative Commons license may not apply.

 



Current Iowa Legislation Affecting Amateur Radio

———————————————————————

Use this guide to get set up with Zoom.
How To Zoom – Quick Start Guide 

Zoom Meeting Instructions
Changing Your Name in a Zoom Meeting
How to Raise Your Hand in Zoom on a Windows PC and Mac


 
10:00 PM AST / 9:00 PM EST / 8:00 PM CST / 7:00 PM MST / 6:00 PM PST / 5:00 PM AKST / 4:00 PM HST
  • This meeting will be recorded. By participating you consent to being recorded. 
  • Please change your display name to Your FirstNameCallSign and Location
    e.g Elmer W0EFG IA
  • Please stay muted until ready to speak. Your space bar works like a PTT for unmuting
  • To be fair to everyone, there will be a three minute limit for each person during Q & A
  • You may ask questions in chat; please stay on topic while using chat.


 60 M Operations Recommended Procedures 


Dial Frequency USB



Nationwide Winlink Training and ARES Participation
Thursdays 8 pm CST

WK1 (7-23-20) Kickoff to Winlink Workshop
WINLINK Download _ Install
Presentation Slides: Presentation Slides Winlink WK1 7-23-20
View Video: Workshop Video Winlink WK1 7-23-20 – View
Download Video: Workshop Video Winlink WK2 – Download

WK2 (7-30-20) Winlink Basic Operation Workshop
Quick Setup Guide For Winlink VHF/UHF
Quick Setup Guide For VARA FM
View Video:  https://vimeo.com/443288476
Download Video: https://vimeo.com/user107547861/download/443288476/1281494e61
Attached is the power point presentation used. 

WK3 (8-06-20) Winlink Workshop Series: Winlink Advanced Operation Workshop
Speaker:  Oliver Dully, K6OLI
View Video:  https://vimeo.com/445460664
Download Video: https://vimeo.com/user107547861/download/445460664/7dcc8ac971
Attached is the power point presentation used and Zoom session chat 

WK4 (8-13-20) Winlink Workshop Series: Winlink Radio Soundcard Interface/DRA Radio Interface Products
Speaker: Kevin Custer W3KKC
View Video: Winlinkn Workshop Video Winlink WK4 8-13-20 – View
Download Video: Winlink Workshop Video Winlink WK4 8-13-20 – Download

WK5 (8-20-20) Winlink Workshop Series: VARA HF/VHF
Speaker: Jose Alberto Nieto Ros, EA5HVK La Aljorra (Cartagena), Spain
 —The creator and developer of VARA Winlink software–
Language interpreter:  Oscar Resto KP4RF, Vega Alta, Puerto Rico
Presentation Slides: Presentation Slides Winlink WK5 8-20-20
View Video: Winlink Workshop Video WK5 8-20-20 – View
Download Video: Winlink Workshop Video Winlink WK5 8-20-20 – Download
Presentation Slides: VARA Presentation Slides
Zoom Chat: VARA Presentation Zoom Chat

WK6 (8-27-20) Winlink Workshop Series: Winlink Advanced – Questions & Answers –Winlink Development Team-
Speaker: Steve K4CJX
Presentation Slides: Presentation Slides Winlink WK6 8-27-20
View Video: Winlink Workshop Video WK6 8-27-20 – View
Download Video: Winlink Workshop Video WK6  8-27-20 – Download

WK7 (9-3-20) Winlink Workshop series: Antenna Workshop NVIS
Speaker:  Mike Ritz, W7VO, ARRL NW Division Director 
 
WK8 (9-17-20) EMCOMM Best Practices – Panel Discussion 
Speakers:  Lee Garner WA0UIG IA SM/SEC; Tom Devine WB2ALJ SEC SNJ; Oscar Resto K4RF SM PR; 
 
WK9 (9-24-20) EMCOMM frequencies and Band Propagation
Speaker:  Marty Woll, N6VI
 
WK10 (10-1-20) Winlink Workshop Series: DIY Radio Interfaces
Speaker:  Scott Currie NS7C
Viewing: WK10 Winlink DIY Sound Card Presentation – View
Download: WK10 Winlink DIY Sound Card Presentation – Download
Slide presentation: WK10 Winlink DIY Sound card Presentation- Slides
Zoom CHAT: Wk10 Winlink DIY Sound Card Presentation- Chat
 

Bonus Topics:

6-25-20 Winlink from the Winlink Development Team-  Phil Sherrod, W4PHS 
To View:  https://vimeo.com/432903722
To Download: https://vimeo.com/user107547861/download/432903722/91e0b9d70b

06-24-20 AREDN Presentation –  Randy Smith, WU2S
 
06-11-20 Ham Radio in SHARES – Steve Waterman, K4CJX

ARES NBEMS Digital Operations Resources

Communicating within the IA Section

IA Simulated Emergency Test Report Forms

ARES Forms

ARES Resources

ARES Training Resources

ARES Connect ARES Group Batch-file Registration Information

RACES

Presentations from the Midwest Convention August 2018:

Presentations from the Section ARES meeting March 2018:

The usual admonitions regarding licensing apply.

Presentations from the Section ARES meeting (March 2016):

Presentations from the Section ARES meeting (March 2015):

The last two presentations are CC BY-NC-SA (click here for details). The first two are copyrighted by their original authors and should be used only as they permit.

Repeater Resources

These are templates you can use for repeater use agreements and MOUs with repeater trustees:

Red Cross MOU

Here is a link to the new MOU between ARRL and Red Cross.

Iowa Hospital Association MOU

Here is a link to the MOU with the IHA.

National Weather Service MOU

Here is a link to the MOU with between ARRL and NWS